Skip to main content

How to Use FIND IT!: Accessing Articles

About FIND IT!, D'Amour Library's resource discovery system.

 Accessing Articles with PDFs

Many articles in FIND IT! will have a PDF Full Text link within their description on the search page or on the landing page when you click on the article's title.

Screenshot of a search result on the search results page with the "PDF Full Text" link under the article information, after "HTML Full Text" Screenshot of an article record page (accessed from the search results page) with the "PDF Full Text" link on the left side of the page

Clicking the PDF Full Text link will allow you to read the article right there in your browser or download it to your hard drive.

 Checking for Full Text

Occasionally, an article won't have a PDF link but will give you the option to check for full text at WNE.

This means the library may have access to the full-text through another database.

Screenshot of an article link on the search results page with the "Check for full text at WNE" link under it.

The "check for full text" link will bring you to the Full Text Finder. The Full Text Finder page will either:

  • Link you to the article in another database (if we have it), or
  • Give you the option to search for it in Google Scholar and request it through interlibrary loan (if we don't have it)

 Screenshot of the Full Text Finder page with a link to an article in another database, Google Scholar, and the D'Amour Library interlibrary loan request form

The Full Text Finder shows that this article is accessible on the JSTOR database.

Clicking the link will bring you to the full-text article.

 Getting the Article from Another Library: Interlibrary Loan

Because publications and articles cost money, we don't have access to every article that's ever been written. Sometimes an article won't be accessible from library databases or the Full Text Finder.

But if that happens, don't panic! D'Amour offers interlibrary loan (ILL) to members of the WNE community. We can get you the article from another library—usually in less than a week.

You'll just need to fill out the ILL request form, which you can access from:

 How to Get Help

chat loading...
Western New England University logo

Research and Support | Library Services | Information Literacy | About D'Amour Library | News and Events
Drop by the reference desk! • (413) 782-1655 • Chat with us!dref@wne.eduAsk a Librarian

Login to LibApps